What happens if you drive without insurance? First and foremost, driving without insurance is against the law.  Perhaps more importantly, the risk and potential consequences of driving without insurance greatly outweigh any savings you may have from not purchasing insurance.  While laws and fines vary from state to state, including the minimum requirements, all states legally require proof of insurance, with the exception of New Hampshire.

Here are just some of the penalties uninsured drivers may face:

  • Fines
  • Increased insurance rates
  • Loss of driving privileges
  • Loss of vehicle registration or license place
  • Points on your license
  • Vehicle impoundment
  • Up to 1 year in prison
  • An SR-22 of a minimum of 3 years 
  • Medical expenses
  • Property damage expenses

The circumstances in which a driver is caught without insurance also affect the severity of penalties.  If you are involved in a car accident or stopped for driving infractions, you may face harsher penalties.  Important to remember is that failure to show proof of insurance also has consequences, despite having current insurance coverage.

 In California, you could face:

  • $100-$200 fine
  • $260 – $520 penalty assessment fees
  • Vehicle impoundment
  • Assessed as a high-risk driver by insurance companies
  • Suspension of driving privileges
  • Subsequent offenses: $10,000 minimum fine, impoundment and driver’s license suspension up to four years

 Drive safely and securely.  Get a free quote from Sigo today